Project ECHO

Project ECHO®

MSC07 4245
1001 Medical Arts Ave. NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102
Help Desk: (505) 750-3246 (ECHO)
IT: (505) 750-4897
Fax: (505) 272-6906
echo@salud.unm.edu

Sanjeev Arora

Sanjeev Arora,
MD, Director

Mission

The mission of Project ECHO® is to develop the capacity to safely and effectively treat chronic, common, and complex diseases in rural and underserved areas, and to monitor outcomes of this treatment.

Project ECHO® is funded in part by a grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and has received support from the New Mexico Legislature, the University of New Mexico, and the New Mexico Department of Public Health.

Project ECHO Faculty

Sanjeev Arora

Sanjeev Arora, MD

Director of Project ECHO®

Dr. Arora is a Distinguished Professor of Medicine in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center (UNMHSC) and Director of Project ECHO (Extension for Community Healthcare Outcomes). Dr. Arora developed the Project ECHO model as a platform for service delivery, education and evaluation. Using video-conferencing technology and case-based learning, primary care providers from rural and underserved areas and prisons are trained and mentored by ECHO’s medical specialists to deliver best-practice management of complex health conditions in their communities or correctional institutions.

Karla Thornton

Karla Thornton, MD, MPH

Associate Director of Project ECHO
Professor
Division of Infectious Diseases
Department of Internal Medicine
UNM School of Medicine
Direct: (505) 272-8323
kthornton@salud.unm.edu

 

Miriam Komaromy

Miriam Komaromy, MD

Associate Director of Project ECHO
Medical Director, Integrated Addictions & Psychiatry TeleECHO Clinic
Direct: (505) 715-0394
miriamk1@salud.unm.edu

Fredrick Hashimoto

Fredrick Hashimoto, MD

Director of Informatics
IT Operations
Direct: (505) 272-2147
fhashimoto@salud.unm.edu

Paulina Deming

Paulina Deming, PharmD, PhC

College of Pharmacy
Direct: (505) 272-0194
pdeming@salud.unm.edu

Clinical faculty are listed on the TeleECHO Clinics pages (see the menu, left).

Evaluation

Summers Kalishman

Summers Kalishman, PhD

Clinician Evaluation Director
Program Evaluation
Direct: (505) 272-8069
skalishman@unm.edu

Glen Murata

Glen Murata, MD

Director for Research
Direct: (505) 272-2727
gmurata@salud.unm.edu